Week 14-Artist Interview-Yireh Elaine Kwak

This week, at the art galleries, I explored Liminal, the senior painting/drawing BFA show. The Gatov West and East galleries were filled with artwork from different students.

11128704_854449074624533_616710074991569743_n

As I was looking around at the different art pieces, I encountered Yireh Elaine Kwak, and one of her paintings. It was my second time interviewing Kwak. I asked her questions that I haven’t asked her before. Some background information on her is that she is graduating this year with a BFA in drawing and painting. Kwak is planning on going to grad school. She needs to submit a portfolio in order to be accepted into a grad school of art. She currently does not know which school she wants to go to, but she is interested in UC Berkley. I asked her the name of the painting behind her, and she said that she named the painting Home. It is not “house” because a home does not need to be in a house. Kwak said that a home is not a building, it is symbolic towards a family. Another student asked if Home is one of her favorite paintings, to which she responded that it sort of is. I like how Kwak compared her paintings to children. She said that she can’t really pick a favorite painting because it would be like picking a favorite child. It took her about a month and a half to paint Home.

I really liked seeing Kwak again, as she is one of my favorite artists. I think that her art is so cool because it captures nature in such a unique way. Her choice of colors gives her paintings a cozy feel. I would love to keep her painting Home in my living room! 🙂

18597_854449077957866_4227049407508288357_n

Leave a comment