Week 6-Activity-Yarn Bombing! 

“All you knit is love.” -Unknown

This week’s activity was a piece of cake, for me! I’ve been knitting and crocheting ever since I was a little girl. I was immediatley overcome with joy when I heard that we were yarn bombing this week!

My experience with this activity was fun. I like how I had the opportunity to show others a little piece of my talent. I believe that yarn  bombing is easier than graffiti writing. This is because I believe that anyone can throw around some yarn and consider it yarn bombing, whereas graffiti writing takes more time and practice.

I believe that both yarn bombing and graffiti writing can be done by everyone. No form of art should be a gender stereotype. If society views a type of art gendered more towards one gender than another, then society needs to direct their focus on something else. Art is a form of freedom of expression. A man should not be frowned upon if he knits, just like a woman should not be discouraged from doing graffiti. Art is beautiful in the eye of the beholder, and should not be judged differently based upon the artist.

For this week, I got to express both my crocheting skills and my knitting skills.

I took my crochetIng skills and made a small flower, which I placed on this farm plowing mechanism.

I chose to add the flower to this old rusty mechanism because I pass by this place all the time, and I felt that it needed a touch of color. The pop of color, from the crochet flower, adds a touch of life to the mechanism.

Then, I took my knitting skills and knitted a bright yellow scarve, to make a light post look brighter!

I placed the scarf on this post because of the fact that during the day, the lamppost does not give off brightness. Now, because of the scarf, the lamppost can be bright both during the day and at night.

Another part of this week’s activity was to visit the Fiber Arts department at CSULB. I got to see a lot of different art pieces, but this one really caught my attention:

I like how the artist used the combination of card stock and wire to create this 3-D piece. The piece, itself, reminds me of Alice in Wonderland, which is why I decided to take a picture of it.

Altogether, this week’s activity has been my favorite by far! 😀

Leave a Reply

